Coldingham 13th April 2014

On the road to Coldingham

On the road to Coldingham

First view, looking windy

First view, looking windy

Well it was everything I had expected and wanted, a cracking opening day of the season for me. Thats not to say that the wind did its best to spoil it, nearly blowing me into the Loch a few times.

Good to see Gareth again and a lovely welcome.  A quite beautiful sunny afternoon but cold in the stiff westerly wind which got stronger as the day wore on. The boats looked as if they were slipping their anchors and I was glad I was on the bank. I said to Gareth I would be happy just to get the one and I ended up with four.

doesnt quite capture the ever present swirling wind

doesnt quite capture the ever present swirling wind

First cast into the white horsed waves and I had an offer to a size 14 damsel with a red head and a blueish rib. Ten mins in and I had my first fish. Surprisingly a very soft take in the conditions, I just tightened into it. A fish of around 1.5lbs full tailed, not a huge fight till I got it near the net but safely landed. There were 3 anglers downwind of me in a tight group a bit too close to me so I moved down to the reed end of the Loch where the wind was stronger, great just what I wanted. It ended up a good move though, I Picked up 3 fish in quick succession these were all difficult to land with the wind behind me blowing the fish away as I tried to get them into the net. Largest of these was about 3lbs smallest 1.5lbs all full finned rainbows, again no great fight except at the net. All fish were caught on damsels 2 on the red head and 2 others. The damsel fishes well at this time of the year.

at the reed end looking for shelter

at the reed end looking for shelter

reed end

reed end

The wind got outrageous after that and it was really difficult to cast. I made my way back to the boathouse realising I was the only one left on the bank and 1 brave couple out in a boat, they didnt last too long and were gone by the time I got back. I really do not mind fishing in the rain in fact I enjoy it but the wind drives me crazy it so limits what you can do, very frustrating. A wee drizzle to end the evening off didnt come to much. Although it was sunny the water was freezing. My new Greys chest waders worked a treat www.greysfishing.com

bit of rain and a rainbow to finish the evening off

bit of rain and a rainbow to finish the evening off

Should be out again this Saturday Easter weekend and the forecast is good overcast and a southerly wind. Great news as it means I can get into swing gate bay a favourite area of mine. Very difficult to fish from the bank if the wind is from any other direction.

last rays on the gorse

last rays on the gorse

It was great to be out again

Tight lines

the reed beds

the reed beds

 

About bibio55

Fisherman and photographer
This entry was posted in Fishing 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coldingham 13th April 2014

  1. SwittersB says:

    Congratulations on a wonderful, wind blown opener!!! Brrrrr. But sounds as if worth it. Wonderful images and colors!

    Gary

Leave a Reply

