My Favourite Flies and the Countdown

The countdown is well upon me for the start of my fishing season. The cortisone injection in my elbow has been a great success, I hope it lasts. Maybe it has been just as well that I couldn’t fish as it has been an absolutely dreadful weather wise. Snow, freezing cold winds all the way from Siberia and no let up this week, this time last year we were in the middle os a very unseasonal heatwave, which was almost the best weather of the year!.

I thought I would fill the time and mention my favourite flies that  I will no doubt be use this year. My fishing chum Tom and I have often thought life would be so simple if  we could limit ourselves to say 15 flies in various sizes and tying and that was all we used in a season.  For one thing I would certainly travel lighter without all the boxes of flies that I never use. Never going to happen but here is my list of 15 that I have photographed (too many variations to list).

BIBIO

1.BIBIOS

BLAE AND BLACK

2.BLAE AND BLACK

PEARLY INVICTA

 3.INVICTAS

BLACK PENNELL

4.BLACK PENNELL

DAMSEL NYMPH

5.DAMSEL NYMPHS

ORANGE SHIPMANS

 6.SHIPMANS

BIBIO HOPPER

7. HOPPERS

EPOXY BUZZERS

8.EPOXY BUZZERS

CDCs (SHIPMANS)

9.CDCs (SHIPMANS)

CDCs

10.CDCs

DADDIES

11.DADDIES

SEDGES

12.SEDGES

GOLD RIBBED HARES EAR

13.GOLD RIBBED HARES EARS

OLIVE SPIDER

14.SPIDERS

WICKHAMS FANCY WET

15.WICKHAMS FANCY WETS/DRYS

Thats my 15, mostly tied by myself,  hard work to narrow them down but I think that would last me all season. I may add 1 lure, a Mini Cats Whisker size 14. All in all though that amounts to well over a 100 flies taking into account the varieties, still a lot though. Of course the reality is a little different. Flies I also like to use Coch Y Bhundu, Kate MaClaren, corixiae, Grouse and Claret, Soldier Palmers, Bumbles, Dunkeld, Mayfly nymphs, Pheasant tail nymphs, Diawl Bach, the list can go on and on but I would be happy with my 15…..I think.

So that’s it, my next blog will be of my first trip out for the 2013 season. Normally I try to start on the Whiteadder resevoir in the Lammermuir hills but they are still covered in snow, so its going to be Coldingham maybe from a boat with electric outboard, tell  you what though, I can’t wait.

About bibio55

Fisherman and photographer
This entry was posted in Fishing 2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favourite Flies and the Countdown

Leave a Reply

